Short answer
A standard tank install runs $600 to $3,100 in HomeGuide's 2026 guide, with labor alone at $200 to $1,000. Homewyse's May 2026 basic tank estimate starts at $1,542 to $1,793 per heater. Tankless runs $1,400 to $5,600. Code upgrades, new gas or electric lines, venting, relocation and permits raise the total.
Key facts
- Homewyse (May 2026): a basic tank water heater install starts at $1,542 to $1,793 per heater; its basic scope excludes code-compliance work, system modifications and permit fees.[1]
- HomeGuide (2026): labor to install a standard tank runs $200 to $1,000; a new tank installation takes 4 to 6 hours.[9]
- Home Depot splits its water heater installation pricing into four parts: the product, basic installation, permit charges and bringing the system up to code.[11]
- HomeGuide (2026): moving a water heater to a new location adds $500 to $2,500.[4]

Quick price table
National starting points, not quotes. Each source defines its scope differently; the scope notes follow the table.
| Install | Source and date | Range |
|---|---|---|
| Labor only, standard tank | HomeGuide, 2026[9] | $200 to $1,000 |
| Labor only, tankless | HomeGuide, 2026[9] | $600 to $3,000 |
| Basic tank install, gas, existing lines and vent | Homewyse, May 2026[1] | $1,542 to $1,793 per heater |
| New electric tank, with a new 240-volt circuit | Homewyse, May 2026[2] | $1,920 to $2,254 per heater |
| Standard tank, 40 to 50 gallon, installed | HomeGuide, 2026[4] | $600 to $3,100 |
| 50-gallon gas tank, full code scope | ProjectCostPro, Jul 2026[6] | $2,900 to $5,050 |
| Gas tankless, with vent and gas connection upgrades | Homewyse, May 2026[3] | $3,293 to $3,859 per heater |
| Tankless, all fuels, installed | HomeGuide, 2026[4] | $1,400 to $5,600 |
| Hybrid heat pump, installed | HomeGuide, 2026[4] | $2,000 to $4,600 |
What each scope covers. Homewyse's basic tank scope covers mounting the heater, connecting the vent to the existing duct, connecting water and gas to existing lines, and a leak and cycle test[1]. Its electric scope includes a new dedicated 240-volt, 40-amp circuit[2]. Its gas tankless scope includes upgrading the vent and gas connection to 200,000 BTU[3]. ProjectCostPro's range includes removal of the old unit, an expansion tank, a drain pan and a permit[6].
For a same-spot swap, see replacement cost, which has a labor vs parts example. For tankless pricing and sizing, see tankless cost.
How much does Lowe's charge to install a water heater?
Lowe's does not publish an installation price on its water heater installation page. It says the cost depends on the type of heater, the fuel (gas often costs more to install than electric), and local labor and permit fees[10]. You request a free consultation, and an independent installer gives you a quote[10].
Home Depot also does not list an installation price on its page. It builds each quote from four parts: the product, basic installation, permit charges and bringing the system up to code[11]. It sends a local authorized service provider for an in-home consultation before the final quote[11].
Here is what each store says its install includes, next to Homewyse's basic estimate. Gaps in this table are where extra charges show up.
| Item | Lowe's[10] | Home Depot[11] | Homewyse basic tank estimate[1] |
|---|---|---|---|
| Removal and disposal of old unit | Included | Free haul-away | Listed as an option |
| Permit | Installer handles it, unless local rules make it the customer's job | Separate permit charge; varies by city | Fees not included |
| Code upgrades | Not listed as included | Separate part of the price; extra charges may apply | Not included |
| Attic or crawlspace | Extra fee | Extra charges may apply for complex jobs | Not stated |
| Same day, weekend or holiday | Emergency fee after noon, weekends and holidays | Same day Monday to Friday if requested before noon and within 30 miles of a store | Not stated |
| Fuel change or new location | Base covers same location, same power source | Not stated | System changes not included |
| Labor warranty | Ask; see its warranty FAQ | Up to 3 years | Not stated |
Home Depot also says it will match a lower written like-for-like quote from a licensed and insured plumbing contractor, before or within 30 days of install[11].
Why do plumbers charge so much to install a water heater?
- Training and licensing. Most states and some cities require plumbers to be licensed, often after 2 to 5 years of experience and an exam[12]. The median plumber wage was $30.67 an hour in May 2025[12]; a company's rate also covers costs beyond wages.
- Hours. A new tank installation takes 4 to 6 hours, against 2 to 4 for a replacement[9].
- Work beyond the heater. Gas lines, venting and electrical circuits are priced on top of the base install (see below).
- Code and permits. The installer has to fix code items to pass inspection and pull the permit.
What a basic estimate leaves out
Homewyse's tank estimate does not include building code compliance work, changes to HVAC, electrical or plumbing systems, structural changes, sales tax or permit fees[1]. It also says to add 13% to 22% if a general contractor supervises the job[1].
Code work is common on older installs. If the existing heater has no expansion tank, no drain pan where one is required, or an undersized vent, the plumber has to fix it to pass inspection. If the old tank is leaking now, see water heater leaking first.
The add-ons that change the total
HomeGuide's 2026 line items[4][5]:
| Item | Typical cost |
|---|---|
| Removal and disposal of the old unit | $75 to $500 (often included)[4] |
| Expansion tank | $100 to $400[4] |
| Bringing the install up to code | $75 to $500 or more[4] |
| Permits for gas or electrical work | $50 to $200[4] |
| Moving the heater to a new location | $500 to $2,500[4] |
| Difficult access (attic, tight closet) | $125 to $300 per extra labor hour[4] |
| Larger gas line, or a new line | $350 to $2,000[5] |
| New venting | $100 to $600[5] |
| Dedicated electrical circuit | $250 to $900[5] |
| Electrical panel replacement | $850 to $1,700[5] |
Installs that cost more than a swap: a first-time install or new location; electric to gas (gas line and venting); gas to electric or heat pump (a 240-volt circuit, which Homewyse prices into its electric install[2]); and tank to tankless (often a larger gas line and new venting).
Will HomeServe replace my water heater?
Only if you already have one of its plans. HomeServe's Water Heater Repair and Replacement Plan covers repair or replacement of a tank-based electric, natural gas or propane water heater damaged by normal wear and tear[13]. If the heater cannot be repaired, the balance of your annual benefit goes toward a like-for-like replacement[13]. Coverage is not available everywhere, and benefits, limits and exclusions vary by plan[13]. Read your plan's terms for the benefit cap and for what happens with code work, a different size or a tankless unit.
Permits
Permit fees are set locally, and Homewyse leaves them out of its numbers[1]. One published example: Houston charges $34.24 for the first three water heaters plus a $33.56 admin fee, lists a $97.56 minimum permit fee, and requires the permit to be pulled by a master plumber registered with the city[7]. See permit fees by city.
No federal tax credit in 2026
The IRS says the 25C Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit is not allowed for property placed in service after December 31, 2025[8]. Utility rebates are separate; check your utility's own page.
What a complete quote must list
A quote missing any of these lines is not cheaper; it is incomplete.
- Exact model, size and first-hour rating (or flow rating for tankless)
- Removal and disposal of the old heater
- Expansion tank, drain pan and relief valve discharge pipe
- Gas line, gas connector and venting work
- Electrical work, and who does it
- Attic, closet or after-hours charges
- The permit, its fee, and who pulls it
- Labor warranty length, separate from the heater warranty
When to call a pro
- Any install that touches gas lines, venting or a 240-volt circuit: these are licensed trades and usually need a permit.
- A first-time install, a new location or a fuel change.
- An older install that may need code upgrades to pass inspection.
- To turn a national range into a firm price for your home.
More questions
Is installation cost different from replacement cost?
Often they are the same job. The words split when the work goes beyond a swap: a first-time install, a new location or a fuel change needs new gas, water, vent or electrical runs. Those runs, not the heater, push an install above a like-for-like replacement.
Can I pay only for installation if I buy the heater myself?
Some plumbers will install an owner-supplied heater, but many charge more for labor or limit their warranty on it. Compare a full installed quote with the unit price plus a labor-only quote before you buy.
How long does a water heater installation take?
HomeGuide puts a standard tank replacement at 2 to 4 hours, a new tank installation at 4 to 6 hours, and a tank-to-tankless conversion at 8 to 12 hours.
Sources
- Cost to install tank heater (May 2026), Homewyse. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- Cost to install electric water heater (May 2026), Homewyse. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- Cost to install a tankless gas water heater (May 2026), Homewyse. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- How much does water heater installation or replacement cost? (2026), HomeGuide. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- How much does a tankless water heater cost? (2026), HomeGuide. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- Water heater replacement cost: 2026 by size and fuel (reviewed Jul 2026), ProjectCostPro. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- Water heater permit (HPWCODE1101), City of Houston, Houston Permitting Center. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- FAQs for modification of sections 25C, 25D and others under Public Law 119-21, Internal Revenue Service. Accessed 2026-10-06.
- What is the labor cost to install a water heater? (2026), HomeGuide. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- Water heater installation (how it works and FAQ), Lowe's. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- Water heater replacement at The Home Depot (installation pricing FAQ), The Home Depot. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook: Plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Accessed 2026-10-15.
- Water heater repair and replacement plan, HomeServe. Accessed 2026-10-15.
Water Heater Facts is an information and referral service run by Strive LeadGen LLC. We may be paid by contractors when we connect a homeowner with one; that never changes what we publish. Found an error? Tell us. We review safety and legal reports within 2 business days and all others within 7 days.